PDA

View Full Version : How to pick a snowboard? out of the loop too long

trliniar
10-14-2008, 02:38 PM
I want to buy a new board, boots, bindings but haven't looked around for the last 7 yrs. Not sure what brands are good or what to look for in a snowboard except for length.

I will be using it mostly for general riding, not so much in the snowboard park or for grabbing big air, maybe occasionally but i have no experience in the park.

I have been riding for the last 7yrs so i can snowboard pretty good, looking for something intermediate and up in quality that will last me a couple of years.

At School the snowboard club is sponsored by some brands, so I can choose from these at a discount: Mission, Burton, Nomis, Foursquare, Option, Special Blend, Ride, Forum, K2, Elm Company, Celsius, Venue, Technine, Vans, Split, Protec and some other ones.

Any input will help out alot,

Pollywog
10-14-2008, 02:43 PM
Some might disagree, but I'd say for general riding and quality, Burton makes a good mix of the two. Almost all of their products are well priced for the quality, as well the engineering takes a modern approach to the sport. I used to have a coupe of Ride Boards and a Solomon board, and those stood up very well with the usual pre-season/post-season, urban boarding abuse.

ercchry
10-14-2008, 02:48 PM
i cant stand burton, their quality has dropped huge in the past few years

out of your list i would go with option, they are canadian and i like their sideway construction.

for what to look for, look at what the base is made of, core should be wood, if edges wrap all the way around, etc

Boosted Gtir
10-14-2008, 02:52 PM
k2 is a pretty good brand IMO
never had problems with there stuff

a social dsease
10-14-2008, 03:07 PM
From what I've seen, most snowboards are pretty close to the same. Small differences of course, but its not like a car where there are 356868 parts, its a pretty simple design.