PDA

View Full Version : ATTN: Business owners

Barking_Spidre
10-19-2008, 10:51 PM
Not sure if this is in the right forum, mods can move it if it'll get more attention else where. :thumbsup:

Just a couple questions/inquiries for you business owners on beyond. I've been playing with the idea of starting my own business in a couple years, as I'm only 22, turning 23 in november, and have lots to learn about what I want to do. I don't want to be inexperienced when I get into my own work, I'm very proud about the work I do.

Guess just a little more information, I want to start a renovation type business. I'm a bluebook 2nd year carpenter, and I've done carpentry for about 2 years, mostly cabinet install (New Alberta Childrens Hospital for 14 months) then I've done some framing, about 4 months of it. Then I was doing kitchen cabinetry install for home builders for a couple months. I can also do full irrigation systems from scratch (doing it for 2 years now), so I can always add that into the list of stuff I'm proficient at. I plan on switching from landscaping to a renovation company, hopefully, as my current job, so I can learn more of the "trade" ie: drywall, tiling, plumbing etc.

Anyways, enough of the life story.

Questions:
What's your business?
How did you get started?
How did/do you advertise?
Would you recommend getting a business degree or are there courses that would be better suited for a small company?

As for the last question, if it's recommended to get a degree, that's definitely feasible for me, as I'd want to do it right, but if there were some shorter courses I could take that would do the same (who knows lol) might as well go with the shorter route.

Thanks for any help/tips/criticism!

A790
10-19-2008, 11:30 PM
What's your business?

I run an online marketing company that focuses on cost-per-sale campaigns and search engine optimization.

How did you get started?