PDA

View Full Version : Avionics Technology

MoneyPit
10-22-2008, 07:34 PM
Has anybody here taken the Avionics Technology course at sait? Is anybody here a technician?

I am really interested in this as a career, however I am trying to get as much info before I step into it.

Vtecmini
10-22-2008, 10:26 PM
I took it. Its a great course. Course load is pretty heavy.

Cooked Rice
10-22-2008, 11:02 PM
I'm in my 2nd year at SAIT.

n1zmo on here graduated last year from it.

It's not too difficult if you are already quite familiar with aviation. I had pilot's training going in, so things like aerodynamics, instruments, and navigation are easier for me. The hardest part for me was electronics theory in the first year. You don't do a ton of work on the planes until your 2nd year in the last semester. Feels a bit shitty when your in class all the time learning about electrical theory when the first year maintenance guys are cracking apart an engine and rebuilding it within their first month

Vtecmini
10-23-2008, 04:21 AM
I was in N1zmo's class

MoneyPit
10-23-2008, 05:26 AM
I looked at the maintnence side of things too, spinning wrenches, is spinning wrenches. I'm just trying to decide if this is right for me and if Im going to have a stable job for a long time. Seems like there is some demand for it.

n1zm0
10-23-2008, 08:52 AM
There's always demand for AME's M1-M2's, E's and S's so long as people use aircraft.

I've swapped to getting my M1 because I lucked out and found a new AMO that needed people (as i applied for AMT at SAIT originally but it was full, i said fk it i want to be around aircraft regardless), avionics was a fun course, you'll learn from some of the most knowledgable/funny... eccentric teachers. You'll hear some of the craziest/amazing stories at school and in the industry. Also the yearly visits from various business jets/RCAF F-18s/random helicopters with $250k+ glass cockpits.