PDA

View Full Version : SAIT - Business Administration

MikeAg
10-31-2008, 11:02 AM
I took Software development last year at SAIT and i didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would have, so now i'm thinking of applying for Business Administration tomorrow so I can start it next Fall. I'm not sure which course to major in though (Accounting, Financial Services, Management or Marketing). From your guy's experience which do you think would be the best choice in terms of employability, salary, difficulty, etc...?

cressida_pimpin
10-31-2008, 04:58 PM
Financial services will probably have the best employability because of all the banks there are. However, I really enjoy being a marketing major because of the opportunities for creative problem solving. Coming up with new business strategy in terms of promotions and marketing campaigns is alot of fun. On the other hand, dealing with numbers all day every day, well it becomes a bit boring.

WWJAI
11-01-2008, 05:48 PM
I graduated with the Business Admin diploma in accounting and I honestly think it is the easiest program to find a position. There are chances to advance in companies easily by furthering your schooling and taking the applied degree program and continuing to obtain a professional designation. Companies are always hiring entry level accounting positions. The money is probably not the best and I must agree with 'cressida_pimpin' that dealing with numbers is boring. I hate accounting but it's going to be my career probably for the rest of my life.

Canmorite
11-01-2008, 05:56 PM
Finance or Accounting would be your best bet.

KyleTA
11-01-2008, 10:55 PM
dont take marketing... its really fun but not much employment opportunity that i have found.

cressida_pimpin
11-01-2008, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by WWJAI
I hate accounting but it's going to be my career probably for the rest of my life.

That's rough man

11-01-2008, 11:41 PM
dont take business at sait, go to mrc or u of c.