PDA

View Full Version : My First Gig!!

zipdoa
10-31-2008, 12:31 PM
So I'm playing @ the MRC Bar Nov 14th, doing a 3 song setlist, and am a teenie bit nervous considering that not only is it my first gig, it is my first time playing for anyone, period. I'm really stoked to play, but was wondering if anyone with experience has tips for sounding my best? What should I do in the next two weeks to ensure my voice will sound tip top? I do scales every morning in the shower and am always singing in the car and whenever I have free time. I also know that you should avoid milk and drink water to keep your vocal cords lubricated.

I'm basically just looking for the dummies guide to making my first gig a show stopper!

LadyLuck
10-31-2008, 12:35 PM
Make sure the water your drink is room temperature and not cold, its bad for your voice!

Are you doing an accoustic set?

Moonracer
10-31-2008, 12:36 PM
Get some of your friends and/or family together and perform for them a few times before you do your gig.

zipdoa
10-31-2008, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by LadyLuck
Make sure the water your drink is room temperature and not cold, its bad for your voice!

Are you doing an accoustic set?

Semi... I don't have a band assembled yet and probably won't be able to get one together and practice enough for this gig, so it'll just be me and my two electrics... My first song will be an acoustic 'knockin on heavens door' with my friend Tara singing, and then I was thinking of singing an acoustic version of 'don't look back in anger' and then playing 'Sulk' by radiohead, which would be acoustic + some distortion for the bridge/last verse.

LadyLuck
10-31-2008, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by zipdoa