PDA

View Full Version : How do I work this iPod?

em2ab
11-10-2008, 11:24 AM
Believe it or not I've never used one before, and for a technical guy, I can't seem to figure this out. I hooked it to my Ubuntu desktop, deleted all the files/folders from the Music folder and added in all my own mp3 files. When I unplug it, all the names from the old files are still in the Songs list on the iPod and none of my new songs are listed. And when I try to play one of the old songs, it won't play because I deleted it.....WTF? It's my girlfriend's iPod, she loaded it originally. How do you work these things?

I got the USB cable for it here if I need it.

:confused:

Barking_Spidre
11-10-2008, 11:29 AM
Try deleting and uploading all the files via Itunes, and not the music folder? :dunno:

buh_buh
11-10-2008, 11:29 AM
You need to use itunes

badatusrnames
11-10-2008, 11:34 AM
iPods are only itunes compatible out of the box (meaning you need OS X or Windows). However, you still should be able to make it work with Ubuntu:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PortableDevices/iPhone
http://www.ubuntux.org/how-to-use-an-ipod-with-ubuntu
http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/9266

Good luck.

Zero102
11-10-2008, 11:35 AM
If you are under ubuntu, there is no linux version of itunes. This is good news in a way.
Your best bets for programs to properly load/unload your ipod are:
gtkpod
banshee
amarok

In that order preferably, or if you want to spend some time researching it I am sure there are other even better programs, those are just the only ones I have experience with.

jav_
11-10-2008, 11:36 AM
no you dont need to use itunes..wont work for ubuntu anyways...

i use gtkpod for my ubuntu system...works great

you can find it here
http://www.gtkpod.org/about.html

em2ab
11-10-2008, 11:45 AM
What the fucking hell? Are you serious? I need to use proprietary software just to copy files to this thing?

I just boycotted Apple, how dumb. First the custom USB hookup, now this.

ZorroAMG