PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for learning to drive manual?

pyroza
11-18-2008, 09:56 PM
So yeah, I've finally gotten around to learning how to drive manual. I've been doing it for a few days but I still stall often, which is pretty embarrassing if there's lots of cars around :(. Everything else I'm fine with, it's just the initial start that screws me up

Any tips or is it just a thing where you keep doing it until you get the hang of it?

drtoohotty1
11-18-2008, 09:58 PM
go to a big parking lot late at night best place to learn clutch control without an audience, thats how i learned.

anarchy
11-18-2008, 10:03 PM
I'm no pro but I found the problem was for me was that I was too scared to gas it, thinking it was going to bolt forward. But that's really not the case with a manual car.

Just give it some gas and slowly release the clutch. It might rev the engine if you're still in neutral but as you do it more you'll get more comfortable releasing the clutch sooner and get a feel for when to do so.

Kloubek
11-18-2008, 10:03 PM
It's not that hard, but finding the correct gas and clutch combo can be difficult on some cars.

Don't be afraid to stall a car while practicing. It sucks on the road with cars around you, but as drtoo suggested, an empty parking lot is a great place to try it out.

When letting out the clutch, start by taking about 2 seconds between your foot to the floor, and completely off. Remember to compensate for gas, but keep your RPMs no more than halfway to the redline if you want a smooth launch. As I'm sure you've discovered, as the clutch starts to catch, you need more gas to compensate to keep from stalling. Don't gun it, but try to keep your rpms higher than your instincts might tell you are appropriate for barely moving.

Good luck!

Jlude
11-18-2008, 10:07 PM
I remember trying to take off in second gear and the car bunny hoppin', at an intersection with my dad in the passenger seat laughing at me.