PDA

View Full Version : Career in insurance industry help

cooperS
11-19-2008, 04:38 PM
Anyone here work for an insurance firm (not life insurance, auto & home insurance)?

Just wondering what are the certificates to qualify for the position. I am a university grad from business program but no certifications at all.

and what is the salary expectations? Is there a base salary?

Thank you in advance!

urban.one
11-19-2008, 04:44 PM
You talking about sales or what sort of position?

cooperS
11-19-2008, 04:52 PM
sorry, forgot to mention that

sales position

300rwhp
11-19-2008, 05:05 PM
what company? what kind of role, besides just sales?

three.eighteen.
11-19-2008, 05:19 PM
sales of auto & home insurance is generally not sold directly from the insurance carrier to the consumer, insurance sales people are brokers

http://www.ibac.ca/Pages/English/Education/Default.aspx

i think this is the education path for brokers

Masked Bandit
11-19-2008, 05:34 PM
It sounds like you are looking at working at a brokerage (like me).

The first thing you need is your level one license but I wouldn't worry about getting that BEFORE you start applying. Most offices will pay for the course once you are hired. Generally speaking the pay isn't all that great to start ($26,000 - $35,000 per year) as you will probably start as an assistant.

However, if you can hang in for a couple years, I've seen everything from the career salary staffer at $45,000 to a commision only broker into six figures.

I don't know if that's much help to you but if you have other questions just fire away.

Dave P
11-19-2008, 05:51 PM
your to qualified!

haha

im company side. its lame

cooperS
11-20-2008, 09:06 AM
Thanks for everyone's help!

tom_9109
11-20-2008, 09:08 AM
I've head the entry level telephone adjusters in calgary start between 43-48k/ yr now.

Masked Bandit
11-20-2008, 10:06 AM
Originally posted by tom_9109
I've head the entry level telephone adjusters in calgary start between 43-48k/ yr now.