PDA

View Full Version : Exceeding speed limit by >50km/h and being caught by photo radar?

zither99
11-25-2008, 10:09 PM
It was an saturday morning ~7am with barely any traffic on the road... got a little excited and got 117 in a 50 zone by photo radar van.

Expected to receive a fine, pay it and be done. But no, hand delivered violation ticket with court date and no option to pay. How bad is this? What to expect? How to prepare? Any idea of expected fine?

I'm not asking a way out of this.

**********UPDATE************
Well I had court today for this speeding ticket. Before me there was some brown guy that had an even worse offence of 127 in a 50, (mine was 117 in a 50), and his fine was $1800, but after explaining he got laid off etc etc he got it reduced to $1500.

I talked to the prosecutor before appearing before the judge and she informed me the fine would be about $1600 if I plead guilty, and I could try to get it lowered. So I said I was a student, blah blah blah and got it also reduced to $1500. NO DEMERITS as this was photoradar.

adam c
11-25-2008, 10:12 PM
well if you didn't post this thread they couldn't prove it was you

but now you're SOL

88jbody
11-25-2008, 10:13 PM
well if you "were not driving the car" that day and had lent it out to a friend they cannot make you do anymore then pay the fine. especially if you had 2 or 3 friends over and let them each take a little drive round the block in your car, and none will admit who did it to you.

or this is what I would think happened and may be able to help you out, but go to the CP and see if they can do anything before your court date, if not go to court, use points or some one similar and see what they suggest or can do for you

zither99
11-25-2008, 10:18 PM
CP?

EK 2.0
11-25-2008, 10:22 PM
CP = Crown Prosecutor...

zither99
11-25-2008, 10:25 PM
If i talk to a prosecutor wont they know it was me...

Also, this would be my first time. Where do you go see a crown prosecutor?

Jynx
11-25-2008, 10:26 PM