PDA

View Full Version : LF: Airline Industry Employee (contacts)

qbnb
11-28-2008, 01:39 PM
I'm just wondering who here on beyond works in the airline industry in any fashion, or has worked for them in the past for that matter.
I'm currently a full-time bachelors student looking to get my foot in the door at any of the airlines with offices/operations out of Calgary. Preferably on the administrative or customer service side but I'm certainly not opposed to manual labour.
If anyone could be of any assistance, I would greatly appreciate it. Basically I'm just looking for some suggestions/recommendations, any contact information that might help, or even just a heads up.

extm88
11-28-2008, 03:29 PM
im p/t at westjet.

gen2teggy
11-28-2008, 04:18 PM
^ :facepalm:

Rat Fink
11-28-2008, 04:48 PM

qbnb
11-28-2008, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by Rat Fink
I wasn't specifically looking for anyone to just hand me their personal contact information, I was more interested in any advice they might offer as far as who I might look into talking to. I'm well aware the internet is a big and scary place, I wouldn't just hand out my info to anyone. I was also interested in talking to anyone with experience, be it within the thread or via pm.

I have applied at all of the airlines and made all appropriate follow up calls. Many of my applications even come complete with employee referrals. I think it has just been difficult being that I'm still a student and as such my availability isn't wide open. I'm sure if I could get an interview however, they'd think twice before discounting me.

I've even got an interview with WestJet for a TAC/Ramp agent position, but unfortunately the training starts 1 day before I go in for major surgery. I've spoken with the recruiter in an effort to explore other possibilities (as far as training dates go), but I obviously can't expect too much from that.