PDA

View Full Version : How to ask to move positions in a company

2.2vtec
12-04-2008, 09:37 PM
I'm currently working in an accounting position in related oil and gas company (pipelines/transportation) but I feel like accounting is just not for me. The overtime and all the reconcilations just don't appeal to me. I majored in finance and not accounting and the company always promotes movement within the company. What is a professional way to mention to my manager that I would like to switch gears to more of a finance role?

WWJAI
12-04-2008, 09:54 PM
Mind sharing where you work? I'll gladly take your job as i'm looking for an accounting position.

Amysicle
12-04-2008, 10:24 PM
How often do you do reviews or discuss career goals with your manager?

Maybe let them know that you're feeling a bit burnt out doing this but you love working at ZYX company and that you're interested in a position more related to your schooling with ZYX company and is willing to work towards it by taking on more responsibilities related to what you want to do. It also really helps if there's a position open to where you want to move to.

revelations
12-04-2008, 10:50 PM
The ones who are most likely to get a lateral (IMO) are the ones who have a specific role/postion picked out and are working towards that goal.

For example, if you want to be a financial advisor, you would have all the necessary background - or at least know what you need to learn - ready with your visit to your HR rep or manager. The more specifics you are armed with for the meeting, the better.

People who say "I just know I want something different" are leaving too much to HR to figure out..... (although I realize you arent saying that directly).

rizfarmer
12-05-2008, 12:03 AM