PDA

View Full Version : anyone have an APEXi Power FC ECU installed?



mr.double
12-10-2008, 08:00 PM
i was just looking at buying one of these and wondering if it is worth the 1000$?

shadowz
12-10-2008, 08:22 PM
Ask RedlyneMr2 he has one

Ek9Max
12-10-2008, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by shadowz
Ask RedlyneMr2 he has one

not installed thouhg.... He said he's too scared.

red99600
12-10-2008, 11:46 PM
i have one but not installed

if you are willing to pay for a good tune and have some decent upgrades, then its worth it

mr2mike
12-11-2008, 12:08 AM
I'm thinking of selling my ATS rom tune for one.

If you're running stuff like 550s, cams and a bigger turbo it be worth it but expect to pay quite a bit for dyno tuning it too.

FLARE
12-11-2008, 01:04 AM
I like power fc; its easy to use and you can change anything anytime you want!
Paying for a professional tune will be costly though...

Redlyne_mr2
12-11-2008, 01:15 AM
Im putting mine in this winter. Im going to have it tuned in Red Deer most likely since Cam at Lightspeed is well known for his abilities with PFC.

GT-FOUR
12-15-2008, 10:03 AM
I have one installed on my Celica. Works very well, I like it a lot. :)

Crymson
12-15-2008, 10:14 AM
probalby 90% of tuned RX-7's use power FC's, for many years.

Redlyne_mr2
01-14-2009, 06:46 PM
Originally posted by GT-FOUR
I have one installed on my Celica. Works very well, I like it a lot. :)
Did Cam tune yours?

mr2mike
01-16-2009, 05:36 PM
What's his ballpark fees for a good tune? Anyone know?

Redlyne_mr2
01-16-2009, 06:48 PM
I think it came to about $600 for spoolin when he had his done.

GT-FOUR
04-29-2009, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by Redlyne_mr2

Did Cam tune yours?

street tuned by myself. who is cam? I might be looking into getting it tuned a little more professionally

mr2mike
05-02-2009, 12:04 AM
Street tuned?
Might be interested in hearing how you did it and set it up.

GT-FOUR
05-04-2009, 09:16 AM
Car is an '88 gt4, with a gen 2 3sgte installed. I first converted the wiring from the gen 2 electronics to match for the gen 3, which the PFC is built for. A few quirks to deal with, like the intake temp sensors and such. Changed ignitor. Running off of my greddy MAP sensor as I have an electronic boost gauge - no need for the gen 3 map...although it took a *lot* of painful adjustments trying to get the map properly correlated.

Then with a combo of my zeitronix wide band and also carefully monitoring the engine, plus watching my J&S safeguard, adjusted fuel and ignition maps while a friend drove on an open back road outside of the city.

:)

With that said, my tune is not very good and I think I'll be looking to a professional and some dyno time to get it right.

Ashkente
05-04-2009, 09:32 AM
You have a datalogit then? Or you're using the hand commander?

mr2mike
05-04-2009, 10:40 AM
If he's running a greddy MAP he should be runing w/datalogit as I don't believe you can change the MAP settings with the commander alone.

Ya, if you don't have the right MAP settings, it could take awhile to get it right.

Personally, I would have run with the Gen2 MAP sensor until I got it reasonably tuned. It can read to 17.5psi so it should work for most of the range. Then flip to the Greddy one and work out the settings for that. Never done it this way, but that's my plan unless someone has a downside to it.

GT-FOUR
05-04-2009, 11:14 AM
Yes using datalogit.

gen 2 map should work then, if it does read that high. I figure it's probably easiest to just tune with the MAP you will be using. Otherwise you may spend unnecessary time re-tuning everything if its on a different scale.

But if you're keeping below the limits of gen 2 map, then you should be all good.

mr2mike
05-04-2009, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by GT-FOUR
I figure it's probably easiest to just tune with the MAP you will be using. Otherwise you may spend unnecessary time re-tuning everything if its on a different scale.


Good point, I have a modified Gen2 map coming in soon. The guy pulls the internals out and replaces them with 3Bar or 3.5Bar internals. Basically a plug and play unit. He's figured out the config settings so it should be an easy setup. Just starting this out and he's not a vendor but if all goes well, I'm willing to let his contact info go to the masses.

Best part is it plugs into the stock Gen2 engine harness.