PDA

View Full Version : Fish and Chips

swak
12-16-2008, 03:16 AM
Wheres a good place to go?

I usually frequent 'Pelican Pier' when im having a craving for good fish and chips...
But anyone else have any other good recommendations?

jswankster
12-16-2008, 03:18 AM
Tuesdays at Joey`s Only... ALL YOU CAN EAT!

hoamic11
12-16-2008, 09:16 AM
Boyd's seafood, I'm a fan of their fish and chips. :thumbsup:

cityhunter2501
12-16-2008, 09:28 AM
Originally posted by jswankster
Tuesdays at Joey`s Only... ALL YOU CAN EAT!

not really impressed with Joey's fish but can never go wrong with all you can eat.

i like the one in deerfoot mall

The_Rural_Juror
12-16-2008, 09:36 AM
Chowder House downtown. They are only open for lunch.

nonlinear
12-16-2008, 09:37 AM
i'm by no means an expert on fish and chips, but some of the best i've EVER had are at Sam McGuire's Irish Pub on Heritage and MacLeod (in the strip mall on top of that hill). They are just cod, but it's fresh and dipped in their homemade beer batter (rickard's red). the fish is really thick and moist, and they give you a big bowl of tartar sauce with it (i usually find that most places don't give you enough sauce so you run out, but you don't even use half of what they give you at Sam's LOL). The fries are are good too (skin on). not sure if they are hand cut or not, but just douse them in vinegar and you're ready to rock.

i think they're only like $8.99 or something ridiculous like that, and they often have them on special too. they're way better than any i've had in calgary, especially the halibut fish and chips i tried at Black Swan down the road, that turned out to be nasty and frozen and about 3 mm thick :barf: