PDA

View Full Version : Background Check

sgouki
12-23-2008, 03:23 PM
Do you know where I can go to get a background check done on myself. I need it for a job and it's my first time having requested for one.
I tried googling and got a bunch of third party companies. Not sure if those are applicable but I'd probably want something government issue.

Thanks

Rich

Tik-Tok
12-23-2008, 03:27 PM
You mean criminal check?

here's something (http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/crimrec/finger_e.htm)

97'Scort
12-23-2008, 03:27 PM
On yourself? Never heard that before. If a company wants a background check, they have to do it themselves. Otherwise, what's stopping you from messing with the results?

gqmw
12-23-2008, 03:31 PM
^Yeah, it's the company's responsibility to do a background check on you. You shouldn't have to do your own check.

Eleanor
12-23-2008, 03:35 PM
The only reason I could see wanting a check on yourself means that there could be something on there the company shouldn't be seeing so the OP wants to see it before they do.

What did you do?

sgouki
12-23-2008, 03:38 PM
I would assume that the company would probably do a check and this whole thing is just a ruse to test honesty.
They said it's a letter that just discloses whether or not you have a criminal record.

sk8r3124
12-23-2008, 03:54 PM
I had to get a check back in the day when I worked at a liquor store. Maybe its a different background check but I just went to the CPS. Pretty straight forward.

FishPoo
12-23-2008, 04:25 PM
I went to the CPS Administration office downtown by the Calgary Public Library back in the day.

I assume that's what they're looking for.

Graham_A_M
12-23-2008, 04:29 PM
Originally posted by gqmw
^Yeah, it's the company's responsibility to do a background check on you. You shouldn't have to do your own check.

Yep, all you should have to do is sign a waiver signifying that its okay for them to perform the check

kolumbo69
12-23-2008, 05:53 PM