A790
01-07-2009, 01:33 PM
Shawnessy Vietnamese Restaurant - 16061 MacLeod Trail SE - (403) 201-3888

Ambiance: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Food: 4/5
Value: 4/5
Overall: 3.5/5

Summary: There's been a bit of chatter on beyond lately about decent Pho places in the south end. I have been to Shawnessy Vietnamese Restaurant a few times and hadn't been back in a while, so I thought I'd chime in and offer my insight.

Introduction:

I'm pretty new to Vietnamese cuisine, so my view on "good" may not be what someone who is seasoned with Vietnamese food considers "good". That being said, I know when something tastes good and I have no problem saying so. :)

Service:

I don't go to Vietnamese places for good service, and chances are that you don't either. The service is acceptable, but you do have to flag someone down if you want to refill your pop or order a glass of water.

That being said, our meals were delivered promptly, if not unevenly (my friend got her meal a few minutes before I did). As well, we ordered pork dumplings which we were later informed they were out of (though they did recommend pork spring rolls).

We had to wait a couple of minutes at the door to actually pay our tab and leave, but it wasn't anything significant or worth complaining about.

Atmosphere:

Spaced out, bright, and surprisingly quiet all describe Shawnessy Vietnamese Restaurant. There is a pretty hefty fish tank in the back with plenty of aquatic dudes and dudettes swimming around (they could also be called fish, I guess, if you wanted to be boring). The tables were all clean, and the room itself was decorated well.

Kitchen noise is kept to a minimum and there is a three foot tall that divides the room into sections. The bathrooms are clean and well cared for.

Food:

I can't read Vietnamese, nor can I remember the descriptions of what we ordered. I had a number 62 (Rare Beef Noodle Soup - $9) and my friend had a Vermicelli dish, of which I can't remember now ($9).