PDA

View Full Version : help me figure out what kind of vehicle i need

nonlinear
01-29-2009, 03:29 PM
apologies for starting a new thread, but i think my questions are changing and were getting lost in that other thread that had a too specific topic.

anyhow, i was going to buy a westfalia camper this spring traveling and camping this summer, however my daily driver is about to die and there have been some changes at work so i might need a vehicle that can serve as: 1) daily driver, 2) work truck for field work in the mountains, and 3) a road trip/camping vehicle. I imagine that the vehicle will be 80% city commuting and 20% camping/field work.

as a daily driver, i'm looking for something fairly good on gas, and not too big so it's easy to drive and maneuver in traffic, etc. Right now, my daily driver is a '91 V6 j-body... i'm not sure what it gets for gas mileage, but i'm used to it, so anything as efficient or better is suitable.

for camping and field work, i mean dirt and logging roads, with some "trail" driving (sometimes these are washed out and/or rutted). we go in areas that get pretty impassable by car, and i've even bottomed out Budget rental pickups (F150?) and have got our 04 Land Rover Discoveries stuck in mud a few times (but they have stock tires). So I'm looking for something fairly adept at offroad, but not any real "mudding" or anything like that. I don't need to do any real hauling - just some light tools, gear, etc. I don't need to tow at this point, although i would like to get some sleds or dirtbikes or quad in a few years, so that is something i should at least consider. It would be nice to sleep in the vehicle, and i'm 6'1" so i think a short box is outta the question.

i'm fairly young and more interested in investing my money right now than spending it on a vehicle, so i'm looking to spend less than 10k (although I can definitely afford more, so i will consider this if i a bit more money means a lot more vehicle).