PDA

View Full Version : How To Play Guitar?

A790
01-31-2009, 12:52 PM
Anyone have any good resources on how to play guitar? I just picked up an old acoustic that I want to learn to play. I'm going to go pick up an electric tuner on Monday and maybe a book or two.

Anything else I should know/need?

zipdoa
01-31-2009, 01:01 PM
E-A-D-G

Now start a band.

stefan15
01-31-2009, 01:19 PM
As lame a title as it may be "Amazing Guitar Secrets" is a good beginner's DVD.

Mckenzie
01-31-2009, 01:45 PM
I learned on a book called 10 easy steps to play the guitar...there is not much variability in learning. You pretty much start with notes, move to chords and then link them together...no real need to make it more difficult than necessary.

My biggest advice to you as I have been playing for 14 yrs and seen many beginners start up and quit, is to get through the first 30 days by practicing 3-5 times per week. I know it sounds cliche, but you need to get over that initial beginner hump and then the world is your oyster. The hardest part is learning coordination and finger / hand positioning at the start, but once you are beyond that, and it should be within a month, you are good to go and will progress VERY fast.

Good luck. :):thumbsup:

TurboD
01-31-2009, 02:49 PM
once you get good at guitar hero you've basically learned everything you need to know, the rest is a breeze.

:angel:

A790
01-31-2009, 03:19 PM
Thanks for the advice :)

Working from home allows me a bit of time so I plan to practice it every day before I start working. 45-60 minutes is totally plausible :)

And I'm already a guitar hero master, so this should be easy :poosie:

psycoticclown
01-31-2009, 03:49 PM
Berklee's A Modern Method for Guitar

/thread