PDA

View Full Version : Does this Stucco look bad?

natejj
02-03-2009, 10:22 AM
I'm in the process of maybe buying a duplex right now. I'm just concerned about the condition of the stucco on the outside. In this picture, it's clearly cracking on the edge of the house. Does this look serious to you guys? What would it cost to repair? It's a 35 year old house. I live in Fort Nelson BC, it gets down to -47 here in the winter.

http://www.nathanpc.com/house.jpg

Kloubek
02-03-2009, 10:23 AM
Looks pretty minor to me. But then, I'm not an expert...

Weapon_R
02-03-2009, 10:27 AM
Cracks in the stucco could be a sign of a shifting foundation.

spikerS
02-03-2009, 10:39 AM
cracks in the stucco dont usually mean anything, unless they get crazy. Stucco is watered down concrete with a few additives and dyes mixed in. The true color of stucco is the grey parging you see at the bottom.

Dont worry about it coming down. it gets put on over a wife frame, similar to box or chicken wire, so unless the wire was not put on securely enough, its fine.

We all know that concrete does not expand and contract very well with the weather we get in canada, and the extremes it can get to, and can show signs of age pretty quick.

In the picture you show, I don't see anything wrong with the stucco besides the crack on the corner, which is totally normal, and actually quite good for a 35 year old house.

This may have been caused by setteling of the house, but after 35 years, it isn't setteling any more.

ZorroAMG
02-03-2009, 10:53 AM
Yeah, repairing stucco's not a big deal...the hardest part is painting over the repaired part and trying to get a color match. Since it's white, it's not that huge a deal, just repair and paint the whole wall that was fixed.

KRyn
02-03-2009, 11:11 AM