PDA

View Full Version : Storage Facilities

JWL
02-09-2009, 05:37 PM
I'm looking for a self-storage facility does anyone have any recommendations or had any experience with Sentinel Self-Storage?

Thanks!

Black Gts
02-09-2009, 06:16 PM
I used public Storage for awhile. It was around 75 a month.. I should have donated my stuff and bought new stuff and I would have been miles ahead, My stuff wasn`t worth what I ended up paying in fees. What are you storing and for how long.. You might be better off saving money.

StupidWade
02-09-2009, 08:55 PM
We use the Sentinel in the NW by Royal Oak. It's expensive (I think $230/month for a 10x12 unit or so) but you can get in 24/7 and it's always really clean and not sketchy at all. It's very secure, too.

I don't know about the other Sentinels though.

kamakurakid
02-09-2009, 09:35 PM
I worked in the industry here for a couple of months. Call around, many will have a deal on the first month. I think I saw a advert yesterday for Public Storage in the SE, the first month is free, if you need the space for only a month you can paperwork it for free.

How long do you need the space for?

Heated or unheated?

Are you storing a car or motorcycle?

What are you storing? In general.

Pay up front, be ahead of the rent.

Leave your CC number, very secure about charges, etc. Nothing to worry about. Saves having to come in each month for a payment.

Buy the best lock you can get, PS sells great ones for $22. There are cameras everywhere anyway but you never know.

On the whole, form what I saw, most of the stuff that went to auction was really garbage. As stated above, better to sell it all off and start fresh when you get back...if it is for a year or more.