PDA

View Full Version : Question about Overtime Hours

Mitsu3000gt
02-13-2009, 10:17 AM
Ok, now that I have my situation worked out I have another couple questions.

I will be a full time employee, but I will be a contractor (or consultant) and therefore I am paid by the hour and not an actual employee, per se. I will be working a full work week, which is 38 or 40 hours or whatever. I have two questions:

1) I will be "on call" some weekends, requiring me to get up for about 10-15 min and check/balance our natural gas account by phoning a counterparty to do a deal. I do this already, and they only pay me for 1 hour and not 3. Now, I thought there was some sort of law that says they have to pay me for a minimum of 3 hours for working on a non-work day even if I only am doing 10 min of work? Or because I'm a contractor, do they not need to pay me extra?

2) Are these overtime hours? I would think so if I am working a full work week, but I am not 100% sure.

Thanks.

realazy
02-13-2009, 10:53 AM
1)I think the overtime law is over 8 hours per work day or 44 hours per work week.

2)I think the 3 hour rule applies for hourly employees (not sure about contractors exactly) but it's only when the company tells you to leave.

i.e. The company tells you to show up and the company wants you to leave in 1 hour, they have to pay you 3 hours.

but if it was your decision to leave, you only get paid what you worked.

benyl
02-13-2009, 11:06 AM
You can't be a full time employee and be a consultant at the same time.

Do you have a numbered company?

lint
02-13-2009, 11:08 AM
You should have done more research before you signed on with your employer it seems. You are either a full time employee OR a contractor, but you won't be both with the same employer. Contractors don't get overtime, sick days, vacation days, rrsp matches, etc etc etc UNLESS stipulated in your employment contract.

Afrodeziak
02-13-2009, 11:41 AM
When I was younger and on an internship, I worked with an O&G.