PDA

View Full Version : MR2 Project - Good for a newbie?

zipdoa
02-18-2009, 04:18 PM
I'm looking at getting this MR2

http://forums.beyond.ca/st/251485/fs-1990-red-toyota-mr2-g-limited/

The most work i've ever done on a car is replace the injectors on my corrado vr6. I'm looking at learning how to rebuild/swap an engine, and also get a fun (cheap) summer car out of the deal, hence the MR2.

Question #1: I am 6'7. I fit inside my Corrado nice, I barely fit inside a skyline. How will I fare inside this car?

#2: I'm a newb mechanically... I have common sense and a teensy weensy bit of experience (changed injectors on my corrado). Am I gonna be in over my head trying to do a motor swap?

#3: How hard is it to learn to rebuild one of these engines? apparently the bottom end is OK, so is just rebuilding the head also gonna be a nightmare for me to learn to do properly

Any advice is welcome!!!

Thanks

- Mike

thinmyster
02-18-2009, 04:39 PM
that car needs a LOT of work. interior/exterior/engine. Looks more of parts car to me

Save yourself time and money and get one that runs and has a decent body

zipdoa
02-18-2009, 04:45 PM
Originally posted by thinmyster
that car needs a LOT of work. interior/exterior/engine. Looks more of parts car to me

Save yourself time and money and get one that runs and has a decent body

Interior seems to be fine, exterior I can live with, I would probably end up painting it myself, engine seems to be the only thing crucial to get this thing running.

Cooked Rice
02-18-2009, 05:00 PM
i went with a friend of mine who has owned several MR2s to look at that car. and it needs a lot of work! Body is in rough shape as well. Wiring on the car is absolute mess. ECU is from a turbo celica, was converted to MAP sensor, car originally was N/A. Big ass gash in the left side rocker panel.

mr2mike
02-18-2009, 05:06 PM
The engine is no harder than any other one to rebuild.