PDA

View Full Version : PC trouble (kept shutting down now wont turn on)



/////AMG
02-23-2009, 11:25 AM
No matter what I always get a problem with every PC I own, itís getting on my nerves!!

Anyway heres the story. My PC was randomly turning off randomly last year, it went away. It started happening again about a week ago and this weekend it was non stop, would turn off a few minutes after I started it.

Now it won't turn on at all. I donít think itís the power supply, the mouse still light sup when plugged in. Also theres a temp. reading on the base unit. When i push the power button it usually lights up blue but just the outer ring does and the temp. reader doesn't (see pic).

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/2530/22022009939.th.jpg (http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/2530/22022009939.jpg)

BTW, this thing is usually ALWAYS on 24/7 lol but it's been going strong for a year...
Just wanted to see if anyone had any suggestion/tips before I take it in somewhere.

I've got more random pics of inside the case:
1 (http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/5899/22022009935.jpg) 2 (http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/4867/22022009936.jpg) 3 (http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/9598/22022009937.jpg) 4 (http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/732/22022009938.jpg)

GQBalla
02-23-2009, 11:27 AM
interesting.

do any of the fans spin when power button is pressed?

check all connections.
reseat your cpu with some new thermal grease if possible.

my rig just did the exact same thing and it was the MB that went

HHURICANE1
02-23-2009, 11:30 AM
Sounds like the power supply may be toast. Buddies computer did that, replaced PS and all was good again.

narou
02-23-2009, 11:35 AM
maybe jumper the motherboard and see if that does anything..

and or if it has an optimize or default setting try that.

boot windows in safe mode, under a different user maybe..

doctortalon
02-23-2009, 11:35 AM
could of been shutting down because of over heating its easy to check a PSU power supply unit just type it in google and grab a paper clip

jswankster
02-23-2009, 11:41 AM
Originally posted by narou
maybe jumper the motherboard and see if that does anything..

and or if it has an optimize or default setting try that.

boot windows in safe mode, under a different user maybe..


Uhm... he cant even turn it on.. how is he going to boot safe mode?

i probably have a PSU somwhere around here you could use to test.. i dont know what you need for power rating?

evoXfan
02-23-2009, 12:07 PM
Sounds like PSU died, borrow one and try it.

topmade
02-23-2009, 12:37 PM
My money is on the PSU as well. Try unplugging items from it one at a time to see if it'll boot.

Doozer
02-23-2009, 02:03 PM
Originally posted by GQBalla
do any of the fans spin when power button is pressed? This.

In my experience, usually if the fans spin but nothing else happens, it's your motherboard. If the fans don't spin, then it's probably your power supply.

(although there are times where the power supply is still passing enough power to spin the fans, but not enough to keep the system running)

SpireTECH
02-23-2009, 02:33 PM
The caps on the motherboard look good. My guess is also the power supply. If you want to drop it off at the office, we can swap a new supply into it real quick.

Alterac
02-23-2009, 04:50 PM
I also had a cdrom drive that would prevent the system from starting.. unplug the power and ide cable from the drives and see what happens.

Otherwise I concur with the psu theory.

SpireTECH
02-23-2009, 08:55 PM
In rare instances I have also seen bad devices cause power faults and consequently, a no boot condition. It might be worth while to simply disconnect power to all devices except the motherboard, and see if the system powers up.

DarkDream
02-24-2009, 08:08 AM
Check the event viewer

eblend
02-24-2009, 08:28 AM
Originally posted by DarkDream
Check the event viewer


that will tell him what is wrong with windows....not with his hardware...besides he can't even get into the damn thing anymore.

if the motherboard caps are good (ones I see go most often are right around the CPU, and if you have a big heatsink, sometimes it covers the busted caps our of sight. Try to see if you have any caps under your hitsink, if not then sounds like a power supply

Dj_Stylz
02-24-2009, 08:33 AM
Originally posted by SpireTECH
The caps on the motherboard look good. My guess is also the power supply. If you want to drop it off at the office, we can swap a new supply into it real quick.

LOL he lives in the UK

SpireTECH
02-24-2009, 10:14 AM
Originally posted by Dj_Stylz


LOL he lives in the UK

:rofl:

It's going to be a while before Dan lives that one down. I'm gonna print this thread off and laminate it for him. :devil:

/////AMG
02-24-2009, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by GQBalla
interesting.

do any of the fans spin when power button is pressed?

check all connections.
reseat your cpu with some new thermal grease if possible.

my rig just did the exact same thing and it was the MB that went

None of the fans spins when I turn it on, and I'm guessing that the power button only faintly lights up because theres just enough power to do so.


Originally posted by doctortalon
could of been shutting down because of over heating its easy to check a PSU power supply unit just type it in google and grab a paper clip

The little temp. display has never gone over 20 degrees so I don't think it's that.



Originally posted by SpireTECH
In rare instances I have also seen bad devices cause power faults and consequently, a no boot condition. It might be worth while to simply disconnect power to all devices except the motherboard, and see if the system powers up.

I'll try that, if nothing happens it's most likely the PSU right?


And thanks for all the replies so far guys, and yes I do now live in the UK but thanks to everyone who offered me help.

I'll try out what I can that was posted here and get back to you.

/////AMG
02-24-2009, 02:05 PM
Ok there isn't any power at all anymore, I don't even get the faint blue ring around the power buttong.

I'm not too big on the PSU side of computers, but is it easy to replace myself? PSU pic (http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/1766/24022009941w.jpg)

For example will this be alright? (have all the connection, etc. that my current one has?)
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129422#
That was a quick search, the site has loads more.

EDIT: Did a quick search and fund a guide. Think I'll just order a 500W PSU and give it a go, right?

01RedDX
02-24-2009, 03:05 PM
.