PDA

View Full Version : Help your Paramedics.....

TurboMedic
02-23-2009, 05:29 PM
As some of you know, I'm a Paramedic working here in Calgary. My job is dynamic, dangerous, stressful and rewarding. I'm currently going through the most uncertain time in my (so far) 11 year career; the Provincial EMS takeover. This transition has been long in the making, but only recent in the execution. We currently stand to be taken over on April 1 of THIS YEAR, and still have not heard anything about the following:

Where will I work?
How will my duties be affected (no, its not just "driving an ambulance")
Who are my superiors?
Will I be laid off and re-hired (at a significantly reduced rate of pay)?
Will our responsibilites suddenly include "hallway paramedicine"?

I know this may not mean very much to many of you, I also know many of you are not supportive of Unions in any form. I grew up knowing what the provincial government could do to any of their employees at any time, my mother is a nurse, and was laid off no less than 5 times through government "restructuring", the SAME government that has placed Calgarians in the position they currently suffer with the lack of hospitals, long waits, and Doctor/Nurse shortage. Unfortunately, we NEED a union to provide us a voice, and the power to be able look out for the interests of MYSELF, and the PUBLIC.

Currently we stand to likely be lumped into one of the following 4 unions, UNA (nurses), UNA (auxiliary nursing), HSAA (RT's, physiotherapy, radiology, housekeeping, etc), or AUPE (general support staff).

Why is this a problem you ask? Well, Paramedics don't fit into any of those particular groups, my job borders between 1. Healthcare, and 2. Public Safety. As a Paramedic I can do any of the following:
- perform a surgical airway in the field
- perform rapid sequence intubation in the field
- electronically and chemically stop and restart your heart