PDA

View Full Version : Ouzo 4th street. "chef" incident...STAY AWAY!

ZorroAMG
03-08-2009, 12:00 AM
So we go to Ouzo for dinner tonight, my family and friends....all is good, food is decent. Then the entrees come. I order chicken souvlaki. Big mistake.

The chicken comes and I take a bite. It's undercooked/chewy brutal texture, so I send it back. No biggie, right? Normal restaurant practice right?

Wrong.

The Australian 350+lb "owner" shows up to the table, crouches down singling me out all aggressive, gets in my face literally and starts giving ME shit for sending the food back.

Owner: "I just wanted to tell you that this chicken is NOT UNDERCOOKED, I HAVE BEEN A CHEF FOR 25YRs blah blah blah I am going to do you a favor and BRING you your replacement beef souvlaki, just don't question my ability as a chef"

Me: "I'm sorry but YOU are confronting ME? Take your "chicken" and take your beef, I won't be ingesting more of your "food" ever again. Is this your first restaurant?" by this point the whole table is WTF at Andre the douchebag. "Let me offer you some advice, do not question the customer. Your only words to me should be, sorry sir, right away"

I was SO fucking mad at the prick. Who in their right mind thinks this is acceptable? All the family and work and colleagues USED to eat there regularly. Never again.

BIG thumbs down to the chef/owner, I do feel bad that the adorable waitress was caught in the middle. Even she gave him a WTF.... next time we are all going to Mannies.

I'm hungry. LOL

Ouzo = big fail.

BigShow
03-08-2009, 12:09 AM
Very very unprofessional on his part.

Good call on Mannies though!!

dj_rice
03-08-2009, 12:15 AM
If chicken is undercooked, it wouldn't be chewy just speaking on a chef standpoint and I can see why he called you out

But yes he was in the wrong for even coming out to confront you about it, you should of told him hes not Chef Gordon Ramsey

ZorroAMG
03-08-2009, 12:16 AM