PDA

View Full Version : training for weight loss and more

KBF
03-19-2009, 11:41 AM
okay, so I've been searching the threads trying to find something that relates to my quieries - nada. So, here goes my first attempt at a new thread.

I have been working out (seriously) at the gym for almost 6 years now (had a couple breaks in there - mostly when I went away on vacations in the first few years).

When I started I was very obese and wanted desperately to lose weight - not just for appearance sake but also because I had a good scare put in me - my Dad at 650lbs had a major heart attack.

I could barely even walk much at first so even though I was mortified for anyone to see me in a swimsuit I started with swimming because I figured it would support my weight and get rid of the impact issues on the joints. After a few months (and a small amount of weight loss) I felt motivated enough to start using a treadmill and got one at home. I walked for hours every day - I became obsessed. And soon between the swimming and the walking I was losing 4lbs a week on average. Then, I added some weight training because I heard that more muscle mass would help. I didnt lose weight any faster (in fact my weight loss came to a complete stand still) but my body started to look a lot better and I felt more capable of doing more than just walking and swimming, so I started using the bike at the pool as well. Six months and 40lbs lost found me at a complete stand still. Another six months and although I didnt gain any back I couldnt lose anymore, so I cut my food intake in half (looking back a poor decision) and the weight started coming off again but I found it really hard to do my workouts - I just didnt have any energy. And after a few months I stopped working out altogether.

I stayed with the low calorie intake and didnt gain any weight back, but didnt lose any more either.