View Full Version : FD turbo for Finboy

Maxt
10-16-2003, 06:36 PM
first

Maxt
10-16-2003, 06:37 PM

finboy
10-16-2003, 08:00 PM
thanks...still confuses the hell out of me...

i see where the exhaust enters both the turbo's, and the exit point, but i cant figure out why the second waste gate is located where it is.

are the turbo's are the same size?

Hollywood
10-16-2003, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by finboy
i see where the exhaust enters both the turbo's, and the exit point, but i cant figure out why the second waste gate is located where it is.

I'm not a rotary expert but I can make a good guess as I know them a little. It looks clear to me that the second wastegate is on the turbine to the exhaust port engine side. I'm guessing their is a flap that stops the entry of exhaust gases for the second turbo, then after the swich over the valve (like a butterfly valve) opens so that the second turbo spools up, thats how you get your 10-8-10 PSI (10-turbo1::8-switchover::10-turbo2).

legendboy
10-16-2003, 09:06 PM
stock twins are ass

Maxt
10-16-2003, 09:46 PM
@Yeah Holly wood is pretty close... There is alot more to it than what is pictured there, the second turbo is surged prior to being put on stream, that gets the second turbo up to speed and makes for a smooth transition to boost... If you are really interested in the deep dark secrets of the sequential twins, go to the Calgary Library and take out the book on the FD3s rx-7 by Jack Yamaguchi, the second gen book by him is pretty kickass as well.....
@Legendboy... FWd cars are ass....:lol:

Hollywood
10-16-2003, 10:07 PM
Originally posted by Maxt
@Yeah Holly wood is pretty close...

Not bad for a piston propellor-head!

Legendboy... FWd cars are ass....:lol:

Don't worry in a drunken state a few weeks ago he confessed his desires for RWD! The real legendboy comes out of the FWD closet!

finboy
10-17-2003, 02:34 AM
i see, so why is this removed from most fd's?