PDA

View Full Version : Worth it ?

rag
03-25-2009, 10:59 AM
I'm looking to buy a car, and found this on craigslist:

It's a '95 Mazda 626. 150,000 KM. Clean. No accidents. The guy is asking for 2200$.

Is it worth it or no? thank you.

403ep3
03-25-2009, 11:03 AM
You could probably talk him down but you might wanna check if there is anything wrong with the car first..

rag
03-25-2009, 11:09 AM
Sorry, I'm a bit new at thi whole buying a used car thing.

What are the main things to check for when going to buy a new car? I mean, I'm going to see the car this weekend and to give it a test run, but how an I tell if there's anything wrong with it in like 20 minutes?

Thanks.

Mitsu3000gt
03-25-2009, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by rag

What are the main things to check for when going to buy a new car? I mean, I'm going to see the car this weekend and to give it a test run, but how an I tell if there's anything wrong with it in like 20 minutes?

Thanks.

If you like the car, take it to a Mazda delaer and pay for an inspection. They will tell you if anything is wrong, how much is left on the brakes & tires, etc. etc. Should be around $100 and could save you thousands.

5G_celica
03-25-2009, 03:31 PM
Originally posted by rag

Thanks.

for me I make sure I check the oil and the coolant to make sure there isn't any milky residue. that's one of the biggest things, cause that means head gasket.

second I would test make sure it shifts smoothly when you test drive it. take it on the highway. 20 min should be enough if the car has any over heating problems

also try and test drive a couple of the same car so you know how much powere it's suppose to have.

another good thing is go with a friend. have the friend look at the exhuast while you rev it to see if any blue smoke comes out.

and if all the checks out then get an inspection on it from a mechanic.

I'm not an expert, but that's what I do when I look for a used car.

good luck

speeed
03-25-2009, 03:36 PM