PDA

View Full Version : Financial Industry.....Calgary or Vancouver

Sailz
03-25-2009, 06:38 PM
I am going to be moving to Calgary or Vancouver in the next year or two to pursue a career in Finance, I was wondering what are everyone's thoughts on Vancouver versus Calgary as far as wages and availability of careers. I know property is more expensive in Vancouver but I do not like to think of that as a real defining factor because it is an investment.

Thanks

ZorroAMG
03-25-2009, 06:40 PM
Err...what's an investment? Higher costs of living?

7thgenvic
03-25-2009, 06:42 PM
What are you thinking in the Finance industry....... Have you gone to school? Do you have experience?

I graduated with my Finance Degree from U of C and I completed a Masters in Finance from Copenhagen Business School. From personal experience and given the credibility of my degrees, I would have to say Calgary is a better bet for getting a job in a related finance position. I have looked for banking job in Vancouver and didn't find anything that I wanted. If I were you I would switch to Accounting and start working on your CA,CGA or CMA. Its a brutal time to move and look in that industry. :)

Thats just me tho :)

Sailz
03-25-2009, 06:44 PM
Originally posted by ZorroAMG
Err...what's an investment? Higher costs of living?

The cost of buying a house there is more expensive than Calgary, but when you decide to sell either to move or downside you make that much more than having bought in Calgary....I.e. Its not a sunk cost...its an investment.

Sailz
03-25-2009, 06:46 PM
Originally posted by 7thgenvic
What are you thinking in the Finance industry....... Have you gone to school? Do you have experience?