PDA

View Full Version : Science students at U of C help me out plz..

Gabru Shakeen
03-27-2009, 10:08 PM
I am friends with a grade 12 student and he needs some help with course registration.

Can someone give me a rundown of what courses typical first year science students take?

It has been a while since I graduated and I am not sure if the course numbers have changed etc.

His ultimate goal is applying to medicine so intro bio/phys/chem courses are the main focus here (they are the first year pre-req's).

I know when I was there like 6-7 years ago I took chem 201/203, math 251/253, biosomething/something, and phys 221/223, and then 2 random grade booster courses to fill up the schedule. This was known as natural science program back then. Probably around 6-7 years ago. Is this still the case?

I just want to help my friend out because I'm sure everyone can understand the transition from HS-> Uni requires alot of planning and he's kind of nervous about making sure he is registered in the right courses.

I'd call the undergrad advising office but it's closed right now. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. :)

Wraith
03-27-2009, 10:15 PM
Fall
BIOL 231 or BIOL 233
MATH 249/253?
PHYS 211/221
CHEM 201
A non-science

Winter
BIOL 231 or BIOL 233
MATH 211
PHYS 223
CHEM 203
A non-science

Your friend should go to the UofC and grab a calendar, I just listed off those off by memory.

Ebon
03-27-2009, 10:16 PM
Wraiths list looks about right and its MATH521 if you've taken calculus in highschool.

badatusrnames
03-27-2009, 10:20 PM
http://www.ucalgary.ca/pubs/calendar/2008/what/fac/SC/v._program_details.htm

Gabru Shakeen
03-27-2009, 10:24 PM
Course list looks exactly like it was 7-8 years ago when I was there. I remember math249 was if you didn't take Calc in high school while 251 was for those who have some background in it.