PDA

View Full Version : Seeking minor accident advice.

Legless_Marine2
04-15-2009, 11:02 AM
I'm a fairly new driver, with 1 month on the road.

Last week, I Scraped a womans car while backing out of a parking spot. Her car's already a beater. In fact, I think there may be more damage to my own van, which was previously pristine.

She'd like to get a quote on paint touchup, and split the cost, but I'm not sure if that's fair given pre-existing impact damage and rust on her car.

I'm hesitant to involve insurance, but have a fair bit of damage to my own van, and wonder if I may be better going off that route and getting both her and my damage taken care of in the same shot.

Any guidance appreciated...

Hers:
http://s01060000b4c5602e.cg.shawcable.net/tmp/IMAGE_233.jpg

Mine:
http://s01060000b4c5602e.cg.shawcable.net/tmp/IMAGE_238.jpg

GQBalla
04-15-2009, 11:11 AM
what was the damage on her car before hand?

Legless_Marine2
04-15-2009, 11:26 AM
Originally posted by GQBalla
what was the damage on her car before hand?

A fist-sized dent, with a large ridge of rust along the top of it, along with other minor dings, scrapes, and rust spots.

My contribution is the horizontal white scratches.

Here's a close-up:

http://s01060000b4c5602e.cg.shawcable.net/tmp/IMAGE_235.jpg

GQBalla
04-15-2009, 11:29 AM
make sure to tell her that, if all you did was the horizontal white scratches id just go polish it off for her and tell her to live with it

Legless_Marine2
04-15-2009, 02:44 PM
make sure to tell her that, if all you did was the horizontal white scratches id just go polish it off for her and tell her to live with it

I wish that were the case, but unfortunately, there's physical scrapes as well.... even once the white vinyl were whiped off, there'd be visible scratches on the paint, which would eventually get rusted as well...

Kloubek
04-15-2009, 02:50 PM
Shitty situation when you hit someone with obvious damage.