PDA

View Full Version : Who here has taken the CSC?

hattonlynch
04-28-2009, 03:55 PM
Hi all
I'm an MRC student transferring to UofC in the fall (hopefully) and I'm thinking of taking the CSC because my I really enjoy learning about the ivnestment industry and down the line I may want to become a trader or something similar. I'm thinking of picking up this designation this summer? Anyone here have any experience with it? how long did it take you? Is it normally pretty basic or some heavy duty stuff?

Pacman
04-28-2009, 07:50 PM
I did it around 8 -9 years ago when I was finishing up my finance degree.

Since most of the content was fresh from doing the finance courses.....I crammed for the two multiple choice exams the night before each one and found them to be fairly easy.

The assignment took a lot of time, but was straight forward.

I heard the format has changed since I did it....so perhaps someone who has taken it recently will offer input.

Pacman

acura_el
04-28-2009, 08:11 PM
I was in the same situation as Pacman. Did it 2 years ago and basically crammed for 1 week and went and wrote the test. I found it easy as I am a finance major as well. I only did it as it's a required for pretty well any finance job.

It's 2 books, 2 exams and it's fairly straight forward. The only issue is that you get tested on things you would think are insignificant. Honestly, I found it the biggest waste of time and money, but if you're looking to learn about the industry it can be a good start.