PDA

View Full Version : Any skeet/trap shooters on here?

97'Scort
05-31-2009, 09:56 PM
I just started shooting skeet and trap about a month ago, and really enjoy it. Up until this point, I've just been borrowing a gun since I don't have a shotgun of my own.

My uncle, however, has two guns that he never uses, and he offered them to me for as long as I like. Both are semi-auto, and the older one (40 years old or so) is a right hand breach, while the newer one (20 years or so) is a left hand breach.

I shoot right, but the older gun can't take a lot of abuse and requires some work. The left hand gun is almost like new and is much more reliable.

Have any right handed shooters here shot a left hand gun? I'm a little cautious about having the shell eject in front of my face, but I have never fired one to be sure. I imagine the stock is different too, right?

Any help would be great!

s dime
04-05-2010, 08:42 PM
I would like to get into the sport. What are the approximate costs, ie: gun club membership, rounds, shotgun, clays...

97'Scort
04-05-2010, 09:28 PM
Hey! I'm going to assume you've actually tried it before? If not, call up a local club and see if you can go try it out. Most will let people borrow a gun and try it out.

First, get your PAL so you can acually buy a gun. A 12 gauge is probably the most economical to buy and the most useful. Canadiangunnutz.com is a good place to find used ones. You need something that can hold at least two shells: over/under, side by side, or semi-auto. They start around $300 for an older SXS and go up to however much you want! $600 should get you in to a nice semi auto like a Remington 1100.

Club membership varies...last club I was at was $25/year and the one I'm at now is $100. Some are up to $500 or more. You generally pay per round, which is generally $4-$5, and that includes the clays.