PDA

View Full Version : Bike Budget?

liquid1010
10-27-2003, 11:07 PM
Ok... I'm trying to save up enough money during the winter to get a decent bike in the spring. I'm totally new to street bikes, although I have had experience with my dirtbike (250). How much will I be looking at for a good bike come spring. Somthing like a couple year old CBR600? any other good choices?

Thanks guys.

Dave P
10-27-2003, 11:59 PM
5 and up. But dont waste your time with a used bike.

Go finance one. Sure it might cost more in the end, but most places you can put gear and helmets etc on it to, which makes it a great deal imo

RiCE-DaDDy
10-28-2003, 06:12 PM
dont pay attention to dave p, i have no idea why he said that.

Nothing is wrong with buying used bikes...unless u have to appeal to your vanity and have the latest and greatest:rolleyes:

IMO financing a bike is pretty stupid. To me a bike is a toy and a hobby and if i have to finance to afford one, then maybe my priorities are messed. Its not like its a house or some kind of investment...

theres some old threads bout first bikes to get.

i have a 91 FZR600 that still a looker imo and i got it less that $3000

general advice would be to start on a used, small bike. something less that 600cc's. But not everyone follows that cause they want to get a nicer bike. something tells me dave didnt follow this advice. :D in the end its up to u

http://www.beginnerbikes.com/

kevie88
10-28-2003, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by Dave P
5 and up. But dont waste your time with a used bike.

Go finance one. Sure it might cost more in the end, but most places you can put gear and helmets etc on it to, which makes it a great deal imo

I've only bought 1 new bike in my life and I regretted it huge. Since then I've only bought wrecks, I haven't spent more than $5000 on a bike since 1995.

bol
10-28-2003, 07:04 PM
Yeah, buying new is a complete waste, bikes depreciate a lot initially and then the depreciation slows down.