PDA

View Full Version : JL or JBL?

wolfsg
06-18-2009, 11:01 AM
Hey everybody, I'm new to amp systems and I was wondering if you guys had any advice for me on what system to purchase. I have a Pontiac Grand Am GT 2000 with the factory system still installed.

A place called Horizon Audio wants to set me up with 2 JL 12" 300w 4ohm subs and a 300watt ab amp. The price of the whole system plus the cost of installing it will be $399.95. They have a sale going on till the end of June, that's why the price is lower than normal.

The second place I went to called DJ's wants to put in 2 12" JBL 4ohm subs and a TMA 500watt amp. They said I would be better off with the 500 watt because it will give me more power. They also recommend the JBLs over the JLs. Their price for the system plus installation is $429.85.

Both stores are convinced that the system they picked out will be best for me. I just need an honest opinion from someone who isn't trying to sell me something. Which should I go with? I don't want my system to just be loud, I want it to sound good. I care more about the sound quality that each system produces than I do about how loud it can get. I listen to rock and rap mainly if that has any bearing on which system I should choose. I've done research on both JL and JBL. I've read a lot of good things about JLs, but also that you shouldn't underestimate the JBLs. So what do you guys think? My car is only a two door and I'm not sure if DJ's factored that in when they recommended a higher watt amp. Anybody ever had any problems with their JLs or JBLs? If you could help me out at all it would be greatly appreciated. :)

*ADDITIONAL INFO*- The JL subs are 12Wov2-4. The JL amp is a G1300. I'm not sure what the JBLs are though. Sorry :(

nobb
06-18-2009, 11:29 AM