PDA

View Full Version : Business question on late payments

Deville
07-02-2009, 01:53 AM
So I'm in my second year of running my biz and I'm getting really frustrated with one aspect of it. I'm dealing with multiple company's. Some which pay me within 30 to 45 days, and others that stretch it to 3 - 4 months at a time.

I know they will pay me, but they stretch it so far sometimes it is becoming really difficult to operate. My invoices say on them, due in 30 days. I've tried calling them and hounding them about it but it does not seem to do much.

I'm thinking my only option would be to charge them interest on late payments, but I'm not sure if I legally can? Also, if it is legal what percentage could I charge?

Any other suggestions would be appreciated aswell,

Thanks

BTW, my company is Inc. if it matters.

403lam
07-02-2009, 03:08 AM
offer a 2% discount for paying within 30 days. Or get a better a/r clerk that will help you with collectibles.

adam c
07-02-2009, 06:49 AM
lots of companies charge interest for late payments, also report them to the credit bureau as it will affect their business credit score

HHURICANE1
07-02-2009, 08:44 AM
A lot of businesses charge 2% per month after 30 days. Look on some of the invoices you receive, I'm sure some of them say something like that on them. It probably won't stop them going over but it is worth a try.

Jlude
07-02-2009, 09:08 AM
Happens all the time to me... I have one company (small) that pays within a couple of days... others that take forever.

Chandler_Racing
07-02-2009, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by adam c
lots of companies charge interest for late payments, also report them to the credit bureau as it will affect their business credit score

That's about the last thing you want to do unless your goal is to piss your client off.

Marsh
07-02-2009, 05:26 PM
offer incentives to pay early, otherwise just charge interest for going over the stated due date...act like a credit card company

adam c
07-02-2009, 05:39 PM