PDA

View Full Version : SAIT Bachelor of Applied Information Systems program

br3tth
07-12-2009, 10:57 AM
Just curious if anyone on here has taken this program, or is taking it in the fall?

Good program?

PeterGTiR
07-12-2009, 11:36 AM
Did you take a diploma program prior to entering the program?

I completed a Computer Technology diploma program at SAIT a while back and I thought it was a waste of two years. It's most likely specific to this particular program though.

The programming languages they teach and the type of job that you can get with a CT diploma are two different things. No one company is going to hire a programmer with a diploma - most of the people who enroll are young and will be less likely to be aware of this. SAIT will process their applications as long as they have the prerequisites. There probably are situations where young people have been hired for a programming position with a diploma, but most people will start off at a help desk. The company I work for now really does not recognize IT - it's very unlikely for someone in IT to be promoted to a manager.

I then worked at CP Rail for a work term and all I did was compare output logs for database transfers.

I realize that the degree has more education and a little bit of work experience, but I would not recommend SAIT for a programming related diploma/degree.

Alterac
07-12-2009, 01:20 PM
SAIT provides the basis of education for you build off of, if you do not get a job programming, or advance in your career, its the lack of drive, and skills.

I took the CNT program, and thats it, then I went to work, got promoted every 6-8months, and now lead a team of techs.

Drive and willingness to learn outside of work will get you alot farther than just some peice of paper. But hte paper gets your resume looked at, then from the time you're hired, its up to you to succeed.

PeterGTiR
07-12-2009, 02:21 PM