PDA

View Full Version : Alright, so I'm frustrated.

A790
07-15-2009, 11:03 PM
Looks like I've hit a plateau. Unfortunately, I can only hit the gym twice a week at the moment due to my work schedule. I literally work four days a week, 12 hours a day. I hit the gym on my days off.

So, of course, all my lifts are stagnating.

Current routine is an upper/lower split, with a focus on chins, squats, deads, bench, and press. Would switching to a push/pull routine get my strength/size gains going again?

Or am I being a little unrealistic in terms of what my lifts should be at this point?

My lifts in October were:

+ Bench press: 135lbs 2 x 8
+ Hammer curl: 30lbs 2 x 8
+ Chin ups: could do 4 if I was lucky.
+ Pull ups: 1, maybe.
+ Dead lifts: 45lbs (bar) 2 x 8
+ Squats: 115lbs 2 x 8

They are now:

+ Bench press: 225lbs 2 x 8
+ Hammer curl: 55lbs 2 x 8
+ Chin ups: 4 x 8
+ Pull ups: 3 x 6
+ Dead lifts: 245lbs 2 x 8
+ Squats: 285lbs 2 x 8

I've been training for roughly 8 months solid, though my diet lately has been slacking a bit. I'd like to up my lifts by 10% before the end of September, but things just aren't progressing as fast as I'd like.

I was thinking about re-tooling my diet. I'm currently 213lbs @ 13% body fat, so I was going to focus on a high-protein diet (around 225g or so) and eat around 3,000 calories per day (maintenance is 2,800). Growth would be sweet.

Suggestions?

KRyn
07-15-2009, 11:08 PM
Change your program up! You say you want to increase your lifts, so I assume you are looking for a bigger bench, squat and deadlift? If this is the case you should try out a powerlifting routine! Maybe something like a 5x5? Also get your self a lifting partner, having some one to push you is always a great tool.

lint
07-15-2009, 11:43 PM
have you been using the same 8 rep range the entire time? 3-5 is more optimal for strength. If you're only hitting the gym twice a week and using a split, 2x8 doesn't seem like enough volume either.

A790
07-16-2009, 12:06 AM