PDA

View Full Version : Insurance: Steps to have a "positive" claim experience

403Gemini
07-24-2009, 11:08 AM
This guide isn't any guarantees on how to have the perfect experience, but its more designed to help your adjuster help you.

I've been doing claims for over 3 years now, started in auto, the moved onto CAT (Large losses like hail storms, wind storms etc), moved onto small content property files and I am now a field adjuster for property claims. These are just some tips that I have experienced that if you do them, you will help out people like me, and trust me, it all adds up.

1 - Have a good attitude. I'm not saying have the attitude "YES! I JUST GOT REAR ENDED! My neck hurts, my car is undriveable! What a wonderful fucking day!" Do not call at the scene of the accident, or right after your hot water burst , you will be pretty emotional. Also you will be rushed, and the first call you make , the adjuster and/or broker will not get all of the information since you will be ushering them off the phone to deal with the police/the other person in the accident/contents floating around in your basement, etc.