PDA

View Full Version : Deck Stain

visualk
08-11-2009, 08:35 AM
I just got my deck completed on my house and I am now looking for a deck stain. I used pressure treated lumber for my whole deck and thinking of colors and what type to get. Also is there any tips or things I should know about before applying, this is my first time staining a deck.

bignerd
08-11-2009, 07:14 PM
You are supposed to wait a while before staining pressure treated wood I think. The chemicals in it will prevent the stain from working/applying properly.

We used Behr latex stain and had horrible results... the stain and flaked off in year and it looked like we hadn't even done anything to the deck!! One thing though is Behr totally stands behind their warranty and they paid for the can of stain we used and a bottle of stain stripper and deck brightener so we could re-do the deck even though I told them I would not use their stain again.

We used CIL oil stain this time(figure the worse it is for the environment the better it will last) and so far it looks great and no complaints even with a dog and patio furniture on it.

Oh buy a deck staining pad-they sell them at home depot-they work awesome!!!(put them on a long handle) and cut your staining time in half-I will NEVER stain another deck any other way.

dropdat
08-11-2009, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by bignerd
they paid for the can of stain we used and a bottle of stain stripper and deck brightener so we could re-do the deck even though I told them I would not use their stain again.

Well that was nice of you. You made the mistake, flipped it on them and then you weren't faithful to the company that helped you even though they shouldn't have.