PDA

View Full Version : b18c piston help!!

nolan34
08-16-2009, 05:13 PM
Hey, total noob question, but Im doing the piston rings on my b18c for my eg. I pulled the engine, and have the oil pan, oil pump, and cover taken off, I was wondering if I can pull the pistons out through the bottom, put new rings on, and put them back in the bottom. I really dont want to take the head off if I dont need to.

Thanks.

sr20s14zenki
08-16-2009, 05:23 PM
Nope, that would involve dropping the crankshaft, which would suck in its own, very hard to put bearings back in their place with any accuracy. AND, most engines i find have a stop at the bottom of the cylinder to stop your piston from going that way, ca18det and sr20det does anyways, im ASSUMING honda is the same?

too much trouble man, take off the head

AND if a head gasket for a b18b will fit, i got one brand new in a bag for you, 50$, i paid 100$

nolan34
08-16-2009, 07:10 PM
thanks alot man,
just ordered one from jdm source yesterday picking it up tommorw with the rings and some others :P

sr20s14zenki
08-16-2009, 07:15 PM
Okie dokie

do bearings while your in there maybe? They arent TOO Costly, and since you are going to need to remove your crank anyways...why re-use bearings.

nolan34
08-16-2009, 07:59 PM
do you have any idea for price range of the bearings?
should i do anything else while im this far into it?
this is my first time doing pistons, ive pulled everything else apart before just not anything in the block..

sr20s14zenki
08-16-2009, 08:07 PM
Bearings will be about 200$