PDA

View Full Version : should i be worried if a car is registered in 3 provinces?

david_oz
08-18-2009, 07:04 AM
Hi all

I'm new to Canada and have been looking for a car over the last few weeks and it has been the most frustrating experience of my life. Every time I find a car there seems to be something wrong with it.

So there are a couple of cars im quite interested in, one of which I looked at yesterday.

The dealer ran the carproof report for me and it turns out it is registered in 3 provinces, here in Alberta, Quebec, and Manitoba. He tried to bullshit me - i couldn't see his screen and he was sitting there saying "yep, all looks fine to me", but I got him to email me the link, and checked it when I got home.

It has also had $5k of damage to the rear left of the car, but I don't think that would be too difficult to run up (esp on a 1 year old car at that time) - although he did lie about that too.

Anyway, I've since been told by someone else that being registered in 2 or 3 provinces is quite normal in Canada - but I don't have a clue so I thought I'd come on here and find out. I don't want to buy a car and then find that some guy in Quebec actually owns it or something

Here is a link to the report in case you are interested
http://reports.carproof.net/view_report.aspx?id=C81790A02DA71C

Thanks for your help

Dave

Supa Dexta
08-18-2009, 07:21 AM
That shows it was first sold and registered in quebec in 2004.. Then in 2007 it ended up in alberta and registered there. I'm not sure on the manitoba part though, as I don't see it in the list of registered dates.

Masked Bandit
08-18-2009, 11:17 AM
It doesn't look too bad to me. $5k damage on the back end isn't terrible. He was probably hit from behind and it sure doesn't take much to hit the $5K mark.