PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Technologist Jobs?

nspicer
08-29-2009, 11:57 PM
Hey everyone,

I graduated as an EET but have had a hard time finding a good place to start at.

Does anyone know what good starter jobs are for these?
Would I get credit if i decided to become an electrician?

Im not registered with ASET yet.

FiveFreshFish
08-30-2009, 12:22 AM
http://www.altalink.ca/Default.aspx?DN=8576942e-1efe-42eb-aa6a-88375fe3f7d8

Grogador
08-30-2009, 12:55 AM
Originally posted by nspicer

They have a job bank, seems decent. I can't remember the details but you might still qualify for cheap 'student' membership, otherwise it's really not worth the money, unless your job requires it. Good huntin.

Nufy
08-30-2009, 08:36 AM
Its a tough time right now as there are many Elec Tech with experience looking for work due to all the layoffs.

Me being one of them.

Luckily I just landed some field work that will keep me busy till next spring.

Start checking engineering firms and you may get lucky.

HuMz
08-30-2009, 08:41 PM
Hey everyone,

I graduated as an EET but have had a hard time finding a good place to start at.

Does anyone know what good starter jobs are for these?
Would I get credit if i decided to become an electrician?

Pretty sure you would be credited for a 3rd year electrician. Without any on the job experience though I doubt anyone would be willing to hire you right now.

Jim Rome99
08-30-2009, 09:52 PM
Nobody will be willing to hire you as a third year apprentice right now. Currently the going rate for a journeyman is $36.50 in Calgary so you'd make 70% of that.

Your best bet is to try to get a job with an electrical company as an estimating assistant. Phone up all the big companies in Calgary: Unitech, Canem, Western etc. Ask around and see what happens. You'll likely have to start out as a first year electrical apprentice but you won't have to go to school for the first two years.

www.tradesecrets.org

nspicer
08-30-2009, 11:46 PM