PDA

View Full Version : BBB question

speedog
08-31-2009, 05:48 PM
As someone who lurked for a number of months as a non-forum member and then joined up, I have noticed a lot of posters talking about reporting companies to or checking up on companies with Calgary's BBB (Better Business Bureau) and I have to question whether or not this is really gaining anyone anything other than some satisfaction that one has reported or checked something.

The reason I state this is because my wife and I became business owners just under 2 years ago and never even once considered joining up to the BBB. And after doing some searches on the Calgary BBB web site, I can safely says that probably 80% of the competitors in our industry are also not even listed on the Calgary BBB web site. Now I do realize what the BBB's mandate is, but how much clout can the BBB have if 80% of an industry isn't even listed/joined up to them.

For myself, as a business owner, I view being a BBB member as just another form of advertising and because of that, I have to justify the cost of that advertising against any possible new sales that said advertising might generate. Advertising we have found out to be a mostly negative return investment - great service, happy employees, very competitive pricing have proven to generate the lowest cost advertising that has given us our best returns.... Word of mouth.

Forums such as this are another form of "word of mouth" advertising - I will go here first to try to discover details on a business or product before relying on what the BBB has posted.