PDA

View Full Version : how to get a canadian licence???

david_oz
09-03-2009, 07:03 PM
hi everyone

i know this isn't strictly a car question, but im in a ridiculous catch 22 situation right now and i figure this would be a good place to get some advice. bear with me, its a bit long

im an australian and ive been driving for 7 years in australia. right now im living in calgary and have been for the last 6 months

since australia is pretty much the only western country that doesnt have some sort of driving agreement with canada, i have to pass a written test and a road test before i can get my licence. i have passed the written test, and surrendured my australian drivers licence. until i pass the road test, i only have a class 7 learners alberta licence

now yesterday i bought a car. but to register the car i need insurance. the only insurance company i have found in alberta that isnt extortionate is desjardins (well... $1200 / year for liability is still extortion, but its $1,000 cheaper than the next option) but they will only insure me if i have another driver on the policy. if that person was not originally licenced in alberta, or has been licenced in alberta for the last 7 years, they need a driving abstract and insurance history from their home province, so that rules out about 70% of people that i know. also, that person has to be in the car with me at all times until i get my class 5 licence, so that rules out the other 30% of people i know (the albertans).

i can't borrow a car off my friends because everyone i know well enough to borrow their car has a standard, and i have never driven a standard. ok i could learn to drive a standard, but at $140 a pop for the test i'm not so keen to do it on a standard when i could pass it with my eyes closed on an automatic