PDA

View Full Version : Acceptable G35 MODs

nicum
09-04-2009, 11:55 PM
I just bought a 2004 Infiniti G35 coupe 6spMT -58000km
it already has the brembo brakes and a new set of 19" rims ,and winter tires and i was thinking of changing the intake on it and the exhaust .
Any ideas of what else would go good with it?

I don't want to over do it and make it look like a space ship trying to orbit deerfoot , and im new to the car forums so i don't know what else to write in here..

Any info welcome ....thanks

Cooked Rice
09-05-2009, 12:00 AM
turbo. nuff said. :bigpimp:

2EFNFAST
09-05-2009, 12:11 AM
Honestly, I wouldn't throw money at it. Biggest mistake I did to mine - it's slow, fat, doesn't respond well to mods, etc...

However, if you insist, imho, the best ones are:

- 1/2'' MD isothermal plenum - mine used to DIE above 4k RPM due to heat soak. MD isp will give you another 20hp or so and solve the heat soak issue. VERY worth it

http://www.motordyneengineering.com/G35.php

- replace stock g35 intake tube with a 350z intake tube. It'll sound much better w/o that crappy resonator restricting it

- remove g35 intake box 'power duct'.....if you look at the front of your intake box (where you can look through to see your air filter), there's a thing with 2 grommets on the front labelled 'power duct'. Removign it picks up like 1 or 2 (if that hp), but the main difference is the overal sound of the engine becomes a lot deeper. Almost sounds like you have an aftermarket exhaust

a 350z intake tube + removed power duct will give you the same power as an after market intake, but sound better and be easier to install.

- I wouldn't remove the stock exhaust - stock sounds good; most of the aftermarkets sound like ass