PDA

View Full Version : Biking year round. What do you need?

el_fefes
09-06-2009, 02:17 PM
Any of you bike year round?

I started riding my bike recently to c-train station for commute, gf's house etc... I really like the exercise.

I was wondering what kind of gear would I need to keep riding through the winter?

swak
09-06-2009, 02:22 PM
warm clothes, simple green (keep your bike clean during the winter!), dont store bike indoors during winter, winter tires.

no_joke
09-06-2009, 03:44 PM
^^Is that a typo or is it true that shouldn't store your bike indoors?

If you're traveling distances farther than 1 km to 2 km apart or on hilly sections, I would recommend getting studded tires for traction on ice. Good gloves are also important. The cold winter wind will cut right through most gloves.

scary_perry
09-06-2009, 06:05 PM
You already have the most important things: a good attitude and the desire to be fit!

swak
09-06-2009, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by no_joke
^^Is that a typo or is it true that shouldn't store your bike indoors?

For winter cycling, its best to keep your bike in a shed or garage or something, so it stays close to the temp outside.
From inside to outside, in the cold its a huge transition in temp. This causes brake pads to ice up really fast, obviously not a good thing to happen.

el_fefes
09-07-2009, 02:54 PM
Yeah, i'm keeping mine in the shed so I don't think that'll be a problem.

Any recommendations for stores where I can buy good gear?

Also are studded tires a must? There are some hills around my area.

swak
09-07-2009, 03:55 PM
Its not a MUST, but its STRONGLY reccommended.

Try Bow Cycle. They got the biggest inventory.

2000Accord
09-07-2009, 07:55 PM
If you want studded tires, it will likely be cheaper to order out off of the internet, just google Nokian studded bike tires.

If you have biking shoes, clipless pedals, the cold weather shoes at MEC are great value.