PDA

View Full Version : Black spots when shooting lower aperture?

Quizzes
09-07-2009, 12:34 AM
Hello, I'm new to this DSLR game (using a Nikon D40) but would like some intermediate or expert advice on why or how I'm getting these black spots on my photos when shooting with low aperture.

This is what appeared on one of my photos before I decided to test out my lenses (24mm at f/22):
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii202/Stud_McCool/DSC_0156.jpg

I shot the following pics against a white wall to better illustrate my point.
This one is shot with an 18-55mm Kit Lens at f/36:
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii202/Stud_McCool/DSC_0027.jpg

This one is shot with a 24mm at f/22:
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii202/Stud_McCool/DSC_0028.jpg

As you can see both lenses produce the exact same black spots on each photo so I've come to the conclusion that it's my camera that's causing this. How do I go about removing it, or if my warranty covers any of this if I've only had this camera for about 3 months?

Thanks for your help and suggestions.

quazimoto
09-07-2009, 12:36 AM
Could be dust on the sensor, the mirror or the lens. Have you you tried different lenses to see if it's still there. If you take the lens off and put the camera into manual cleaning mode you can get a good look at the sensor. If you tilt the camera back and forth you should be able to see visible dust on the sensor.

Quizzes
09-07-2009, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by quazimoto
Could be dust on the sensor, the mirror or the lens. Have you you tried different lenses to see if it's still there. If you take the lens off and put the camera into manual cleaning mode you can get a good look at the sensor. If you tilt the camera back and forth you should be able to see visible dust on the sensor.

Yes, I've tried with different lenses and the black spots appear at the exact same spots on both lenses, so I've come to the conclusion that it's my camera that's causing this.