PDA

View Full Version : Consumer Warning - Tuner to avoid

doubtless
09-15-2009, 09:23 AM
Hello!

I'm new to the beyond.ca website, and I'm not from the southern parts of Alberta, but I feel compelled to pass on a summary of my dealings with an Airdrie tuner which some members of the board may be familiar with.

Anton English is a longtime Skyline tuner, Honda tuner, recently JDM Subaru WRX's and now JDM Mitsubishi EVO's are his most common work. He recently has denied a refund on a product purchase I made involving a JDM Subaru WRX tuning system following multiple rounds of faulty hardware being installed.

Below is a timeline of events for you to make your own judgments. This is not intended to slander or defame Anton English, but to make other potential consumers in our community aware of a businessperson who refuses to stand behind his promises.

doubtless
09-15-2009, 09:24 AM
June 27
I engaged Anton English (handle of 'stinky' on most forums) to see about this as a tuning solution for my car.

His prices were $800 for the installation with basic tune, or $1000 for a tune that would be more personalized on the car.

After some back and forth e-mails I opted for the $800 option, as I had no real performance mods which might require fine tuning.

July 10
I drove down to Airdrie, to Anton's home where We installed the board and I drove home. The next day when driving the car began exhibiting an extreme shudder and backfiring behavior for approximately 5 minutes all through the rev and load range, until finally settling down and driving normally again. This behavior continued on every cold start following the install.

I drove like this troubleshooting everything (coil pack swap etc.), gas being used, ECU connectors etc. etc. until...

July 22
Contacted Anton who suggested I could limp the car to Airdrie to look at it, meanwhile another Subaru owner was coming down to have his tuning system installed the next day.