PDA

View Full Version : New Grads

believe
10-29-2009, 08:32 AM
who's graduating this year? anyone else having a heck of a time trying to get a job for next september?

Marsh
10-29-2009, 06:28 PM
Yeah, competition is fierce out there man, fewer spots and way more people applying. Just have to keep applying and make sure you stay on top of your game,,,at this point any slip up will cost you, too many good people out there. Its hard trying to land a gig though

7thgenvic
10-29-2009, 06:33 PM
GOOOD LUCK KIDS :) It's still terrible times for being a new grad. You will be up against those who have been laid off with experience, and other grads who have summer experience in their field.

Hakkola
10-29-2009, 06:42 PM
I graduated this August. Sent out probably a hundred resumes, the only calls I've received are from banks like ATB Financial and Scotiabank for pretty much entry-level positions.

Hopefully things will look better for you guys next year.

Nusc
10-29-2009, 10:26 PM
Hakkola, have you started working for those banks? If I recall correctly you did your degree in communication & culture? When did you say you were going to law school?

l/l/rX
10-29-2009, 11:13 PM
move to another country where english is a big plus to have :D

HK here i come!!!

TomcoPDR
10-29-2009, 11:18 PM
Originally posted by l/l/rX
move to another country where english is a big plus to have :D

HK here i come!!!

I would had thought Mardrian would be more of an asset.

l/l/rX
10-29-2009, 11:24 PM
Originally posted by TomcoPDR

I would had thought Mardrian would be more of an asset.

I am learning mandarin right now too :) Its not really an asset if you work in HK though, in HK fluent english is a big asset. Mandarin is really only good in the mainland.

cjab
10-29-2009, 11:41 PM