PDA

View Full Version : How to network while job searching

megafandrew
11-23-2009, 07:05 PM
I have a general question related to careers. How are young people or similar with little networking connections/work experience to go about doing this in a job search. I am 21, I am a millwright apprentice working as a labourer currently and I have not worked at very many places.

I mentioned to a few of my friends and co-workers I am looking for millwright work but seldom here anything back or when they do take my resume I wonder what happened with it. I blame this partly on economy obviously as I am not the only apprentice not working in his/her chosen trade.

What is the sense behind networking? Is it truly the only way to find work right now (I have been told this many times over by others) I have worked at Syncrude as a student apprentice Co-oP but I dont think its appropiate to be emailing a past recruiter or supervisor and asking them if there is any chance they could hand my resume in directly?

How do you guys network when job searching and is the above mentioned appropiate? This is frustrating Ive been out of my apprentice trade for over a year now and Im about to drop it altogether and explore something else. :banghead: :facepalm: lol

Jlude
11-23-2009, 07:09 PM
at 21, it's hard to have a "network" built up.

It's usually built by proving yourself in the industry, people need to know that you're able to get things done.

ExtraSlow
11-23-2009, 08:30 PM
Networking is a slow process. Very few people can network themselves into a first or second job. For a person in your position, I'd think of networking now as a way to find the job AFTER your next one, which will be a few years away.

That being said, it's prudent to start building your network. Join an industry association, play in a sporting leauge or join a social group. It's actually a lot like finding a girlfriend, just think of it as a girlfriend that pays for you. Much tougher.